Journey to the Good Place.

Know yourself. Love yourself.

Yeah, I’ll tell you something…

Leave a comment

Several years ago my loving mother bought me an electric guitar for my birthday along with case, strap, picks, books and a stellar amp. Everything a rocker girl could ask for.

A few years later my Dad uncovered his old acoustic buried in the garage and decided to entrust it to me.

Now, finally, after years in which I repeatedly re-vowed to myself that I was going to learn guitar and become an awesome rocker girl. After years in which my two guitars sat sad and lonely in the closet accumulating dust. And a few months after I told my Dad to go ahead and sell my amp and electric to make some extra cash for himself cause I was probably never going to learn to play…

I’m finally learning guitar!

I don’t know what made today so different that I was finally able to turn thinking and planning and dreaming…into DOING!!! I was sitting listening this artist named Mishka: a dreaded up Caucasian reggae singer who at first glance looks like the typical “white boy trying to be black” but whose grungy style and musical genre choice are easily explained by the fact that he’s lived his whole live on an old wooden sailboat cruising around the Caribbean. His tunes are so simplistic and yet despite that (or perhaps because of it?) his MISHKA!
songs are so breathtakingly pure and drive straight into your heart, making you feel for a moment horribly emotionally exposed, and then (after a moment of adjustment) so purified and peaceful and easygoing. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to listen to Mishka and be stressed or angry or depressed. Listening to Mishka all day one really can’t help but wish for no money or material goods or fame or fortune…only peace and goodwill for all.

*sigh*….I’m totally addicted.

Anyway, I was listening to him and humming along and marveling at how simplistic it was and yet beautiful and suddenly I was like: “I wanna play this.” So I jumped up and grabbed my computer and looked online for what the chords were. Unfortunately, I didn’t find any that worked for me.  But even then, in a spectacularly uncharacteristic show of determination, I pushed on! I found some chords for “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” by The Beatles: one of my favorite songs in the world to sing.

So far I’ve memorized the first 3 chords. Now I just need to get the rest of them, then memorize them in order, then work on speeding up.

I will be victorious!!! And when I am I’ll put it on Youtube!

Wish me luck ^.^

LittleSpastic Out

Author: Meggo The Flying Eggo

Once upon a time I knew exactly who I was. Once upon a time I knew what I was doing and where I was going. Once upon a time I knew what I wanted and what I didn't like. Once upon a time I had it all figured out... Then I was born.

Leave a Reply

