Journey to the Good Place.

Know yourself. Love yourself.

WOW Regression

Leave a comment

Somebody stop me. I’m seriously considering regressing into my past life as a WOW gamer.

In my defense, I was never the kind of WOWer you hear horror stories about. I never forgot to sleep or eat because I was too busy playing. I never started thinking that the WOW world was the real world. I never gave up on real relationships in favor of my relationships in the game. Shit, I never even played for more than 2 hours at a time. I only played at all because it was literally the best stress releiver I have ever found. Back when I was going through school I would come home with my brain literally ripping apart from all the information I had attempted to ingest that day. I would then sit down to do my homework or study and would momentarily black out and then wake up to find myself in the middle of a violent rage that would often consist of either throwing large breakable things, tearing apart furniture, or attacking innocent bystanders. Then a friend introduced me to World of Warcraft and I developed a new habit of coming home, sitting down at the computer and turning on the game first thing. It was perfect: it used just enough of my brain power to keep my brain from working to make it’s own entertainment, but no more than that so that my brain was able to rest. I would play for an hour or so, then step away feeling fully refreshed as if I’d slept for hours. I would be fully prepared to do my homework, rager-free.

In more recent times, I have been trying to stick to more grown-up acceptable means of relaxation and stress releif. Some examples would be: television, gardening, housework, beer, going out on the town with friends, and sleep. But none of these (even hours worth) can come close to the same condensed healing power of one hour worth of WOW.

…Seriously, I don’t care if it makes me an epic nerd (cause let’s face it I’m pretty enough that my social rep will survive), unless someone comes up with a very compelling argument to disuade me, I am going to buy WOW as soon as I get my new computer.

Author: Meggo The Flying Eggo

Once upon a time I knew exactly who I was. Once upon a time I knew what I was doing and where I was going. Once upon a time I knew what I wanted and what I didn't like. Once upon a time I had it all figured out... Then I was born.

Leave a Reply

